About ICAI Surat Branch

TheSurat Branch of WIRC of ICAI was established in 1971 under the ablechairmanship of CA . I.J.Desai, the iron man of surat and a legendary person.The Surat Branch caters the needs of members and students of South Gujarat.

During the initial years, the branch activities were carried on sucessfully fromthe office of past chairman CA. Y.B. Desai for 16 years. During these years,CA. Y.B.Desai nurtured and fostered the Surat Branch as a baby with great zealand utmost care.

Itwas in the year, 1986-87 that with the admirable foresight of the past chairmenand efforts of the members of the branch, the branch could get the distinctionof being the first branch to have acquired its own office premises under thechairmanship of CA. Kishor R. Gheewala. The branch office premise wasinaugurated by CA. Balasubramanium, the then president of ICAI.

Withthe painstaking efforts of the members and students as well as ample guidanceand support of CA.Rupin Patchigar, past chairman and the then member of WIRC,the branch could secure the ICAI's examination centre at Surat.

Underthe able chairmanship of CA.Hiren M.Diwan, the branch had successfullyorgarnized for the first time Regional Conference in 1990-91.

In1996, under the able chairmanship of CA. B.K.Rathi, the branch celebrated its silverJubilee and received first ever award as the best branch in the Western Regionand Second best branch in India.

Hissuccessor, CA.Ramesh Goyal, also repeated the same feat in 1997.

In1998, under the chairmanship of CA. Vinod Goyal the branch created a historyand was adjudged the best branch in India. The branch was also able to retainthe Western Region best branch trophy permanently as it was adjudged bestbranch in region for consecutively third time. Also during 1998, the branchpublished its first ever members' directory.

In1999 under the chairmanship of CA.Keyur Mehta , the branch received thecertificate of highly commendable performance. 

In2000, under the chairmanship CA.R.V.Chandak the branch received the award ofbest branch of the region.

In 2001under the chairmanship of CA.Shyamanand Chaudhari , the branch received thecertificate of highly commendable performance.

In2004, the branch  under the chairmanshipof CA.Rajesh G.Jain successfully arranged The All India Conference on Auditingand Corporate Laws.

In 2005,the branch was completely renovated and obtained the permission to start the decentralizedoffice under the chairmanship of CA.Jay Chhaira.

Then in 2006, the branchsuccessfully started the operation of decentralised office under the chairmanship of CA.Surendra Gaggar.

In2007, Surat became the centre for campus interview and new directory of memberswas released under the chairmanship of CA.Hardik P.Shah.

In2008, Surat branch received the Best WICASA award under the chairmanship ofCA.Mitesh Modi. 

In2009, Surat branch conducted a mega Entertainment Programme at Indoor Statdiumwhich was attended by more than 10,000 citizens under the chairmanship ofCA.Manish Jajoo.

In2010, under the chairmanship CA. Hitendra Mody the branch shifted to new leasedpremises at 2nd Floor, Saifee Building, Nanpura, Surat admeasuring7000 sq fts.  Wherein all the branch activitiesincluding  DCO and students' activitiesare carried on under one roof.

During2011, under the chairmanship of CA. Harishankar Tosniwal, the branch organiseda National Confernce as well  as a WIRCDiamond Jubilee Mega Conference.

Membersof Surat Branch CA. Rupin Patchigar, CA. B.K Rathi and CA. Jay Chhaira havebeen elected to WIRC for the term 1986-92( two terms)  , 2007-09 and 2010- 12 respectively.

CA.Rupin Patchigar served as Vice- Chairman of WIRC during 1991-92 and CA. B.KRathi have also served as Vice- Chairman of WIRC during 2009.

Thebranch is now serving more than 1500 members and more than 12000 students.